On hating a stranger

babyThere are some people in this world, no matter how many crocodile-invested rivers you swim across to get them to like you, just refuses to do so. My friend’s mother could be crowned queen of this particular sub-species.

Needless to say, she hates me. I’m pretty sure she doesn’t have any reasons for disliking me, any GOOD reason. I have spent endless hours trying to bury this  invisible hatchet between us, but you know the thing with invisible things is that they are very hard to find. I make such a huge effort to avoid it seemingly like I’m making a huge effort. It’s making me reminisce about those ‘first crush’ days where I would think of multiple ways to seem natural.

Anyways, you would think that it’s not that important to make someone like you and you should just be who you are. Clearly, you have a lot to learn about India. Here, the mothers have the crown when it comes to anything related to the child- deciding his/her friends, career, spouses..Ah! The list is endless.

This is why I prefer babies to adults when given a task to impress. They don’t seem to care who’s ‘peek-a-boo’ing as long as someone is entertaining them, they are fine. I wonder if my friend’s mother would have liked me if she goes back to being a baby and I remain the same. Probably she would…unless her mother also develops the same problem, and hates me. I can’t compete with a portable meal machine for the love of an infant! Some days, you just can’t win.

5 thoughts on “On hating a stranger

Leave a Reply

