Misunderstood jokes

I read somewhere that there is nothing like the disappointment you face when your joke isn’t fully understood by some person. It’s a myth. There is absolutely nothing even comparable to the feeling you get when you try to explain your joke and still face THAT blank stare of absolute incomprehension. That moment is the definition of disappointment.

As a socially awkward person, I have had my share of these precious moments and a bit more.

5’0 friend : “I was telling him, I grew up in…”

Me(arrogant 5’11): Are you sure? HAHAHAHAH

Friend: Huh?

Me: You know, grow? GROW as in..

Friend: Lame, man

………………………………………..

R: That’s the guy! God! Isn’t he amazing? LOOK AT HIS HAIR!

Me: Bet the polar bears don’t feel the same way

R: What?

Me: Isn’t it obvious? Hair spray..aerosol..ozone hole..global warming..polar bears..HEY where are you going?

………………………………………….

Friend: I am so annoyed! I could punch someone in the face now.

Me: Take deep breaths and count a 1-2-3, a 4-6, a 4-7, a 5-7, a 6-7, 7,7,7,7, SEVEN

Friend: Sometimes I worry about you

Me: Nooo, remember when Monica teaches Chandler..UGH!

……………………………………….

Friend: Sometimes holding a grudge isn’t the answer, you have to let it go.

Me: I would let anything go if I could build an ice castle in the middle of nowhere with my bare hands in seconds and turn anyone I want into ice. But since I can’t do that, as of now, I’m not letting anything go.

Friend: ….

Me: Frozen? Are you serious?

………………………………………….

How about you? Have you ever felt the need to provide an explanation to your jokes? Don’t leave me hanging alone all by myself.

Leave a Reply

