Look good/or not and still feel good

We live in a world OBSESSED with perfection. If your gums show when you smile, or your face is marked by pimples or blackheads and you are of a dusky complexion-you won’t be considered beautiful. This silly view has fed little insecurities and made them jumbo sized up to the point where they begin to engulf a person’s life. The inner beauty concept is great but only appreciated by the confident of us. What about the rest? When we walk on the streets, it’s not inner beauty that makes us appreciate a stranger after all, is it? But does it matter? You want a stranger to ‘check you out’ and like you for your pretty face or you want someone who has known you for a while and loves you with all your imperfections.

I’m not a hypocrite, I use creams, foundation, kaajal etc just like everyone. Truth be told, I feel a whole lot more confident when my hair stays on rare occasions. But I learnt long ago that even if my hair makes me look like the bride of Frankenstein it’s not going to diminish my self esteem in any way. I spent most of my childhood trying to be someone I wasn’t. I linked my worth to appearance and it wasn’t pretty. I hated my oily skin, my small breasts, my extremely skinny body, my giant feet-the list was endless. I still have all these features but it’s not what controls me. Sure there are days I want to bury myself when I see a huge pimple on my nose making me look like Rudolf but most days I love myself for who I am and I guess that’s a good start. Don’t get sucked in these mindless games. You don’t need to look great to feel so.

Here's a little inspiration for you! ;)

Here’s a little inspiration for you! πŸ˜‰

9 thoughts on “Look good/or not and still feel good

  1. Very wise words from someone so young. Society does place unrealistic ideals on outward appearance, especially from women. I’m much older than you, so I can relate. I use to be small busted, but the girls grew. While I was thrilled that I was finally proportionate, given I was pear shaped before. I was amazed at how much more attention I got from men. While some women dress to show off their assets, I always have dressed conservatively as to not draw unwanted attention to myself. Don’t get me wrong, I love my big boobs, but I don’t let them define who I am. The best thing about this body change was it gave me more self confidence.

    That’s really what it’s all about. Now that I’m middle aged, I truly believe the old saying “Good looks gets you about two weeks into a relationship, after that you are on your own.” While looks may fade, it’s who you are on the inside that counts. You can only feel bad about yourself if you let others make you feel that way.

    Life only gets better, trust me I know.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Big or non-existent boobs, only we have the power to define ourselves! I absolutely agree with you. We shouldn’t feel sorry for ourselves based on ignorant remarks. Thank you for your inspiring comment! πŸ™‚
      My girls are still in their diaper stage. But hey, you never know what the future holds πŸ˜‰ (That’s how I comfort myself during gloomy times)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

