Because IT’S A SUNDAY!

Sunnndaaayyy! That’s the only reason I wake up on Monday mornings. It’s the only thing that gets me through the week with a spring in my step, a smile on my lips..too cliché? Who cares?! It’s a sunday!!
So the sun was shining bright,  the birds chirping..you know the drill. I stayed over at my aunt’s house- a welcome change from the hostel. I hogged up as much of air the ac was providing to make it last the entire month, I know it doesn’t work that way but it doesn’t stop me from trying. We, a group of friends then ate at an amazing restaurant and had a great time at Hard Rock Café(the Tamil Nadu version doesn’t serve alcohol-Yay! Moral police! So much fun). We didn’t need alcohol since we were high on life, and were laughing at everything. They gave us free cake since they were celebrating some anniversary which we found so hilarious for a reason I’m not even sure about and laughed like maniacs. It was those times when a sneeze from the opposite table was hilarious or when the waiter mixes up the order it somehow reduced all of us to tears and I may have even pee-d a little. JUST a bit.

image

I even decided to shop for my niece/nephew and realised I had about 7 more months to go till the baby is born.

When the giddy hysteria wore off to a sense of warmth we decided to go to the beach. By now, we were all broke and just enjoying the breeze. Then I realised, we were the only women in the whole spread apart from older couples strolling about and the younger ones in the shadier parts being ‘shady’ and it was just 8:30 pm!

There’s a general opinion in my area that if you are a girl and roam about after sunset, then you probably have loose morals. Which is utter bogus! Having a vagina doesn’t deny you from spending the evening out with a group of friends! I grew up with a feminist father so I’m not used to the “boys vs girls” scenario. Today, Looking around I just felt sorry for all those souls that are supposed to be out here with their friends laughing about things from underwear to boyfriends and are instead asked to stay at home so that no one questions their morality which will be an additional bonus point to write about in those matrimony sites when they search for a groom.

While some vagabonds were passing crude comments, my friends were too locked up in each other as they caught up on love and life and with the wind teasing my hair mercilessly, I felt I was free. Which is a luxury, at some parts of the world, one I totally plan on not wasting.

17 thoughts on “Because IT’S A SUNDAY!

  1. My son often plays at the Hard Rock Cafe over here in L.A. Who needs alcohol when there is free cake!! On the other hand, that really is awful that women are judged for being out beyond their ‘curfew’. If you don’t mind, where are you from and where are you staying?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! 😀 I was raised in Dubai but I’m enrolled in an university in Tamil Nadu, India. The worst part is that usually it’s other women that judge and make snide comments ,especially down south. It’s a great place once you choose to look past it which is what I do on a daily basis. 🙂

      Like

  2. Oh, this is glorious. I very much enjoyed reading it. What part of the world do you hail from? I noticed the ‘s’ in realized and knew you weren’t American (so refreshing). I look forward to reading more of your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

