Girlfriend love

I would like to thank the supreme court of US for inspiring me to write this post! πŸ˜‰ My faith in humanity is getting restored step by step with momentous decisions like these. Hopefully one day, we’ll see India joining the list of countries who have decided to grant fundamental rights to all despite differences. I am straight but I love my girlfriends to bits and this one is for them!

I don’t keep in touch with people who always manage to greyΒ  bright scenarios. Negativity not only affects yourself but also those around you. I haven’t regretted walking away from all those people.

Competitive people tire me. I used to be a child who would only participate in events that I’m sure I would win in. I grew out of it, thankfully. I keep competitive people at an arm’s length at all times. I’m done with that phase of my life and I don’t want to get sucked in petty issues as ‘Who gets more marks?’ ‘Whose boyfriend buys the better gifts?’ Bleh. Like I said, it’s way too exhausting for a lazy soul like mine.

Basically, just like with food I’m picky when it comes to personal space. Don’t get me wrong,I’m a really talkative person, I’m the stranger in the bus whose head you want to bang against the windshield for dragging you into conversations. Give it some time, I’ll grow on you. Atleast that’s what my nanny told my dad the day she was leaving. But that maybe because my dad was in tears and he pleaded her to stay forever but she had other priorities and wanted him to stop begging her. Anyways. The above listed reasons are why I love my little group of close friends. I met my best friends when I was just 3 years old. Our mothers were friends even before we were born. I knew they were my soulmates as they laughed at most of my jokes which is a rare quality. Each of us are in different countries now and the time differences makes it really hard for everyday conversation but these are the girls I can call at 4 am even to complain about seemingly petty little things, literally like ants.
Now it’s getting all sappy and weird. So, I had a conversation with one of them yesterday and only after re-reading it today I realised why girlfriends are just the most amazing people in your life. Since I’m a medical student, people falsely believe I know the functioning of a human body. Hence her doubt:

X: I’m on my periods and something really weird happened to me.
Me: You sneezed and POOF?
X: Um, NO. I was watching this movie with L(her guy best friend) and suddenly I just wanted to grab him and kiss him then and there which is super weird cause he’s one of my best friends. I don’t like him that way. But i just…sort of WANTED him. You know.
Me: ooooooo but ewww at the same time
X: Is it cause of the periods? Do we get more turned on or something? I just wanted to devour him when he tried to scare me. It was just all biceps and everything everywhere. Is there something wrong with me? OH GOD! HE’S MY BEST FRIEND. THIS IS SO WRONG AND-
Me: I never sit on the passenger seat in a car during my periods especially if the driver is male because my body finds the act of shifting gears super erotic.
X: WHAAAT? HAHAHAAH

This is why we need dysfunctional girlfriends in our lives to convince us that we aren’t the only ones who feel that we are stuck in quicksand and that there’s hope for each of us. Thank you girls for always being there! πŸ™‚

33 thoughts on “Girlfriend love

  1. Thank you for bringing a smile and making me laugh at the end of your post. πŸ™‚
    I will have a look out next time when I get up on the bus to see if anyone’s head is being smashed on the windshield. πŸ˜› Then I will realize, hey it’s the girl from babysteps22 πŸ˜‰
    Also another part I would relate with is I have known my best friend from age 5. And some bonds are just unbreakable. Talking to them is always refreshing. Which reminds me I had to call her today. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 2 people

    • Childhood friends are so amazing! It helps that they know every single thing about you which is why whenever I make a new friend I always miss how much more simpler it is with my childhood friends since I don’t have to explain anything. Idli with curd, they are used to it now! My new friends just stare and I have to do the whole “Oh, get used to it” speech. But then there’s the added mystery, since the new ones don’t know about all the pathetic crushes and some horrible memories I could be anything I want! Maybe even iron(wo)man-I’m getting carried away, but you know what I mean. πŸ˜€ And, HEY! You can’t just stand there and watch when you see me getting bashed! Where’s your humanity? Oh wait, in this world that means taking a picture and posting it on Facebook pleading for likes- ‘Click the like button to help us stitch her head back to her body’.

      Like

      • Firstly, I will give it to you this is the longest reply I have received for a comment here at WordPress.
        Secondly, very true about the childhood friends part. I have this habit of tasting toothpaste and vicks cream. Don’t give me that awkward stare here. πŸ˜› The first time anyone hears it, they are like is it even edible? πŸ˜€
        Thirdly, No dear no Facebook post. I not so social in this social media. I only have an account for catching up with groups and other stuff I follow there. πŸ˜› On the contrary I would have stopped the person after the first bash. It would take one bash to get the attention and a realization of the fact that it YOU. The babysteps22 πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hahah, I wasn’t KIDDING about the talkative part. πŸ˜‰ My comments are usually like mini blog posts. Toothpaste and VICKS? Next time someone stares at me for having curd with everything, I’ll inform them of your quirks! That ought to show them.

        Liked by 1 person

      • And I will try…*cough* vicks and toothpaste. (not really, but I’m trying to be sweet if you can’t tell) If I don’t end up in the emergency room, I’ll definitely let you know how it went πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      • Probably you might see me in the emergency room instead not that I wish to make another trip to Hospital anytime soon for any reasons. πŸ˜›
        I have got rid of all VICKS in my room long time ago. Only the toothpaste’s are there which I seldom try to ingest. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your honesty and sweetness. You are also so funny. I love having friends I can talk to about periods! You need people like that in your life to remain sane! And you’re not the only person who gets like that on your monthly! Only every single female on planet Earth πŸ˜‰πŸ˜˜

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

